How to Watch SpaceX’s Inspiration4 Launch—the First All-Civilian Mission to Earth Orbit

Home Technology How to Watch SpaceX’s Inspiration4 Launch—the First All-Civilian Mission to Earth Orbit
How to Watch SpaceX’s Inspiration4 Launch—the First All-Civilian Mission to Earth Orbit
The Falcon 9 rocket and Crew Dragon spacecraft at the launchpad on September 12, 2021.
The Falcon 9 rocket and Crew Dragon spacecraft at the launchpad on September 12, 2021.
Image: Inspiration4/SpaceX

History could be made on Wednesday, September 15, as four civilians prepare to launch atop a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket for a three-day mission to low Earth orbit. You can watch the action live right here.

Advertisement

Earlier this year, both Virgin Galactic and Blue Origin sent all-civilian crews to the edge of space. It’s now time for the next giant leap, with SpaceX preparing to send an all-civilian crew to Earth orbit. That’s never happened before, as every previous crewed trek to orbit has included at least one government-employed professional astronaut.

The five-hour launch window opens today at 8:02 p.m. EDT (Thursday, September 16 at 00:02 UTC). The all-civilian crew of four—Jared Isaacman, Hayley Arceneaux, Sian Proctor, and Chris Sembroski—will sit inside a specially modified SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft. A reusable Falcon 9 rocket will blast off from Launch Pad 39A at Kennedy Space Center in Florida, taking the crew to low Earth orbit.

You can watch the launch at SpaceX, but you’re welcome to hang out here and watch the livestream provided below. The webcast is scheduled to begin at 3:45 p.m. EDT (7:45 p.m. UTC), which is 4 hours and 15 minutes before liftoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.